Fill It or Spill It

Infinium

In Boston, Domestic on June 2, 2011 at 11:25 pm

I wanted to wait before I did my next post, but I had to share my thoughts on Sam Adams Infinium.  If you have a TV, I’m sure you have seen the commercials promoting the Infinium brew.  You’ve also probably seen the promos saying it’s the “champagne of beer”, so, of course I was all about trying to get my hands on some.  With the help of one of my boys (fellow beer nerd), I was able to get my hands on a bottle.  On to the review.

Coming out of the bottle it looks pretty impressive.  Infinium has a nice golden color and plenty of carbonation.  At first taste (maybe a little on the obvious side) it doesn’t taste anything like champagne.  Strong flavors of bread and yeast in the beer, not much else to be honest.  I expected a lot more in terms of flavor, because it is Sam Adams, but sadly it is a let down.  You can’t really take your time with it because the carbonation dissipates pretty quickly, so one second you’re watching Sportscenter and then the next you’re left with warm, flat beer.

At 10.3%ABV you get an ok buzz, but the beer isn’t enjoyable and neither is the buzz.  You are left contemplating what other beers you could have bought.  I was really let down because Sam Adams makes good quality beer, but this was just not good.  I’m sure a lot of it has to do with how expensive this brew was; I believe it cost me $35.  Buying Infinium is like going to an expensive restaurant and getting a crappy steak; you overpay and feel unfulfilled.

Verdict: Spill It!  For $35 I drank every drop of it, but didn’t enjoy it.  My advice is use those $35 (or whatever some of those sheisty beer places charge) you would have spent on Infinium and spend it on a better brew.  Maybe on some Sam Adams Summer Ale or almost anything else.

  1. I totally agree with your review. I expected more out of this (especially because I’m a fan of both champagne and beer). I believe this was a collaboration between Sam Adams and Weihenstephan (could be wrong, but I do remember their name onthe bottle). Weihenstephan is the oldest existing brewery in the world and has some pretty good beers. This is not one of them. Save your money and go with a Hefe-Weissbier from Weihenstephan instead.

  2. I have to say that I disagree on this one. I think it was worth a “fill it” if for no other reason than to try a unique brew. I cannot blame Sam Adams for going out and trying something different. I felt that the closer I got to the bottom of the glass, the more I liked the beer. However, I can understand how some may not like the unique flavor. This is not to say that one should buy it in bulk but it is certainly worth a try. Nice job on an honest review though.

Leave a Reply

