Fill It or Spill It

Schlafly Tripel

In Domestic on June 5, 2011 at 9:43 pm

I picked this bottle up out of curiosity.  I had the Schlafly Reserve barleywine a long time ago and remember liking it, so I figured let me give this tripel a try.  Part of what helped me picked this bottle out was the design on the bottle.  The bottle had a cool psychedelic feel to it, but not gaudy or cheesy.  I cracked this bad boy on a Saturday night after a nice steak dinner and was impressed.

The beer had a golden color and had a really light fluffy head that was almost like cotton.  The head lasts forever.  The head slowly shrinks and turns into a white coating on the beer if it sits long enough.    It had really nice carbonation and passed the eyeball test; it looked like what a good tripel should look like.  It had a strong aroma of Belgian yeast and some sort of spices.  The spices aren’t overpowering and added a little something to the yeast smell.

At 10%ABV you don’t taste the alcohol that much, but it is definately sipper.  It’s a sneaky beer; if you turn your back on this tripel the 10% ABV will catch up to you.  It had a tartness to it, not sweet or bitter, just sharp flavor.  The Belgian yeast was dominant in this full body beer.  I want to say it has some sort of citrus flavors like lemon in it, but it was not really citrus I tasted.  I think the appearance of citrus had more to do with the tartness of the beer.

Surprisingly, the beer was pretty robust for a tripel; its almost thick feeling when you drink it.  The finish was a little dry, like wine, I don’t know how I feel about it.  The dryness was interesting just because this beer is full of flavor and the dryness just adds to its complexity.

Verdict: Fill It!  This is a nice tripel that I suggest you pick up.  I’m definitely going to give this tripel another look, just so I can re-live the complexity.  Drinking it was almost like solving a puzzle because I kept trying to figure out some of the flavors, but in the end just tried to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

