Fill It or Spill It

Unibroue Quatre Centieme

In Canada on June 22, 2011 at 9:59 pm

The name on this post is pretty fancy, but stay with me.  Unibroue is a great Canadian brewery that makes some quality beers.  Quatre commemorates the 400th anniversary of the founding of Quebec (home of the brewery).  I like Unibroue beers so I had to check this one out.

The ABV on this beer is 7.5%, so nothing crazy, but just enough to get a buzz going.  The beer pours a golden color and has nice carbonation to it.

The aroma isn’t overly complex, it is nice and sweet.  It tastes like apples, so it isn’t too sweet, but just right.  I can’t really smell the alcohol, which is good.  The alcohol is very subtle in the aroma.

The mouthfeel is very light; it goes down smooth.  To be honest, it isn’t overly flavorful.  Hints of yeast and citrus flavors are both subtle.  Just like the aroma, the taste isn’t overly complex and feels almost hollow to me. I could probably reach and make up some sort of vague flavors so it sounds interesting, but I’d just be lying.

Verdict: Spill It!  I feel let down by Unibroue.  Their beers are usually flavorful and always enjoyable; Quatre wasn’t either of those things.  If you like subtle beers than this beer is for you because their isn’t a whole lot going on.  It really tastes like just another mass-produced beer, nothing special.  I feel a bit cheated because I didn’t have much to say about it for the post.  The lack of a review doesn’t have to do with this beer being a Spill It, but more with the fact I didn’t find too much going on with this beer.  Next Unibroue review I’m sure will be better than this one.

Leave a Reply

