Fill It or Spill It

Blasphemy

In Domestic, Pennsylvania on June 26, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Weyerbacher is a good brewery that hasn’t let me down yet.  Their beers always have cool names like Blithering Idiot, Insanity, and so on.  I saw a beer named Blasphemy, so I had to buy it.  The art work on the bottle is pretty cool.  I had a cool bottle, cool name, all I needed was a cool beer to complete the trifecta.  How could I not buy this beer?

The beer poured a dark reddish-brown and had a creamy, thick head (I’ll leave that one alone because it’s too easy and it’ll stop being funny). The head was interesting because it poured about an inch, but dissipated really quickly and left almost no trace on the beer.  I don’t know what that really means, I just thought it was interesting.

The aroma was good.  It was dark fruits mostly, raisins and dates.  It had that dark fruit sweetness that is not too sweet and pleasant.  I got a little bit of vanilla in the brew too, which was different. The alcohol was in there, but nicely hidden.

The taste was the dark fruits like raisins and dates.  I also picked up some slight hints of caramel in it too.  The mouthfeel was a little syrupy.  It wasn’t a bad thing, but I just did expect it.  It had a medium body and it was kind of dry on the finish.  At 11.8% ABV it was surprisingly easy to drink and the alcohol was nicely hidden for the most part. The flavors were also pretty subtle, but not boring.  The taste was great; sometimes flavors in beers like this can be overwhelming, but not here.  Just a note, if you have more than one it  will start to have some bite.

Verdict: Fill It!  I’d also say split it, if you can.    It’s definitely a sipper, not because it is heavy or filling, but because of the 11.8% ABV.  It was so easy to drink, I couldn’t resist having the second glass and I probably should have saved it.  I’ll definitely buy this one again.  It would be great if everything were as easy as finding a good beer.

Leave a Reply

