Fill It or Spill It

Pangaea

In Delaware, Domestic on June 29, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Dogfish Head is another great brewery.  They always have interesting beers and do all sorts of things with beer.  I have been in the mood for a Dogfish brew lately, so why not go with Pangaea?  I have seen it around and have always been curious about what it tastes like because it has a cool story.  The beer is made with an ingredient from every continent, which is awesome.   It has quinoa from South America and maize from North America.  I think the coolest ingredient is the water from Antarctica because when do you hear anything coming from Antarctica?

Pangaea pours a golden honey color.  It has a nice fluffy head, not a lot, but a nice amount.  The head dissipates and settles as a nice coating on the beer.

The aroma is good.  I don’t eat a lot of food with ginger in it or drink things with ginger in it, so Pangaea is a new experience for me.  The first thing you smell is the ginger; it is very prominent.  I also get a hint of butterscotch in there.  To be honest, I’m not sure if it is actually butterscotch or if it is just a whole lot of ginger, but that’s what I’m getting.

It has a nice medium body, it isn’t too heavy.  As you can imagine, the ginger is very prominent.  I also get some spiciness, like coriander in this beer.  It’s got a honey like sweetness to it, which is nice.  The finish is a little bitter, which is a little weird considering the sweetness.  Then again, this isn’t your average beer, so I’m expecting a few surprises.   It has got some big flavor, so it is a little hard to thing I can drink a lot of it.  The bottle says to serve slightly chilled, not cold and I would recommend to do that.  I had it cold to start because it has been pretty hot lately, so I needed to cool off.  However, as the beer warmed a little, it become smoother and nicer to drink.  (Always read instructions).  Even though this beer has a lot of ginger flavor, it is pretty easy to drink.

Verdict: Fill It! (If you are in the mood)  Pangaea is definitely a good beer, but I don’t know if I could drink it all the time.  I saw a clip on the Dogfish site featuring Sam from Dogfish saying that this beer is released around the holidays to bring families together.  This is the perfect beer for that because I can see myself sharing this beer with family around the holidays over delicious home cooking.  It isn’t an everyday beer, but you should check it out.  When else will you get to drink water from Antarctica?

  1. […] whether he filled or spilled DFH beers Fort, Old School 2011, Old School 2010, Punkin’ Ale, Pangaea, and finally his thoughts on his visit to the source – Dogfish Head […]

Leave a Reply

