Fill It or Spill It

Mana Wheat

In Hawaiian Series on July 27, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Maui Brewing Co. is the first brewery that I visited while in Hawaii.  I like the stuff they are doing there and the beers they are putting out.  I’ll be doing a review of the brewpub, so I’ll put more info about them in that post.  I had the Mana Wheat as a part of the sampler they give you at the end of the brewery tour.

The art work on the can is pretty cool, it is a guy sitting by the beach (probably waiting for a beer).  Right off the bat, you know this is going to be a refreshing beer.  The beer pours a cloudy, yellow color and has a nice fluffy white head that sticks around for a while. The carbonation is active, so the beer has some life.   The ABV on this one is 5.5%, so nothing crazy.

The aroma is really nice, it has a nice pineapple aroma.  It smells nice and sweet, but not that off-putting too sweet smell that everybody hates.  There is also some citrus aroma in there and I can pick up the wheat too.

The beer tastes just as you would expect, like pineapple.  The taste of pineapple isn’t strong or off-putting, but really refreshing.  It also has that bready-wheat taste that you would expect from a wheat beer.  The wheat is nicely balanced by the pineapple sweetness, so it is very enjoyable.  The body of the beer is somewhere between light and medium.

Verdict: Fill It!  I had the pleasure of having this beer both in the can and on site at the Maui Brewing Co.’s tasting room.  I personally preferred it from the tap; it’s like having a freshly cut slice of Hawaiian pineapple, but out of the can is good too.  I would definitely have this beer again.  Unfortunately for me, the beer isn’t available on the east coast, so I just have to wait until I return to Hawaii  or until I make it out west.  This beer is perfect for staying cool while you are on the beach (or close to it).  The Mana Wheat is going to be missed, but this wasn’t goodbye it is until we meet again.

Leave a Reply

