Fill It or Spill It

Hula Hefeweizen

In Hawaiian Series on August 11, 2011 at 9:32 pm

This brew I first tasted as part of a sampler (the same one Mauka/Makai was in).  It is brewed by the good people at Kona Brewing and served at their brewpub.  My wife and I were fascinated by the prospect of a banana hefeweizen, so we called on Kona Brewing to see what they had for us.  Just a note, pay no mind to that empty snifter in the pic; I had to warm up my beer drinking engines.

The beer had some fluffy white head that had some good staying power.  It was served with a wedge of lemon that gave me that “I’m so in Hawaii” feeling I loved.  It had a nice banana yellow color; showing this beer had character.

As expected it smelled just like banana, but not manufactured banana.  Just like you guys, I hate that cheap “Let’s make it taste like _____” that happens with beer and food sometimes.  None of that going on here.  It smelled like fresh fruit and it made me want to eat it instead of drink it, but I digress.  It had a little something extra like a little citrus kick.

The taste was b-a-n-a-n-a-s! (a poor attempt at an Eminem reference). The banana flavor was really good, the right amount of flavor.  It also had some wheatyness to it.  The wheatyness was welcomed; it balanced out the banana flavor nicely.  Subtle citrus in there, but I had to “chew” the beer to pick it up enough to notice it.  The body was full, but not as full as I expected which made it really drinkable.

Verdict: Fill It! I was really into this beer.  It was perfect for the trip.  I had one of these while I stuffed my face full of food at the brewpub.  My wife really liked this beer too, one of her favorites while we were on vacation.  Bananas are pretty filling, so I thought this beer might be hard to finish, but not the case at all.  Hula Hefeweizen is a really good beer on vacation.  I was hoping I could find this in a 6-pack while over there, but no luck.  Mahalo Kona!

Leave a Reply

