Fill It or Spill It

Sunset Amber Ale

In Hawaiian Series on August 16, 2011 at 10:25 pm

This brew comes from the Hawaii Nui Brewing Co in Hilo on the Big Island.  I had it when I stopped in at Humpy’s Alehouse on the Big Island, which was a cool spot (review forthcoming).  I thought the name was pretty dope, so I figured why not give it a try.  Cool things usually have cool names, right?

I had the Sunset Amber on tap, so when it came to me I could see some nice frothy head.  The head seemed to enjoy the beautiful day, so it decided to stick around for a while.  This beer had a deep caramel-hued amber color.  The ABV is 5.45%, so it was a laid back beer.  The aroma was really pleasant.  It was a light malty aroma with some subtle caramel notes.

The mouthfeel was good, it had a light to medium body.  It wasn’t heavy at all, but had enough body that I felt satisfied drinking it.  I could definitely have had a couple of these.  It had some hints of malt, with a slight bitterness.  The bitterness was enjoyable.  It was like having some buffalo wings with the right amount of spice in the sauce.  I also picked up some slight caramel flavor too.

Verdict: Fill It!  I really liked this amber ale.  It was a nice intro to what Hawaii Nui brewing has going on over in Hilo.   Sunset Amber was perfect for sitting out in the amazing Hawaii weather and enjoying the gorgeous views.  It was a change from the lighter beers I had while in Hawaii.  The sad part is I wasn’t able to visit the brewery in Hilo.  Next time I’m on the Big Island, I’m definitely going to plan a visit to Hilo and visit the good folks at Hawaii Nui.

Leave a Reply

