Fill It or Spill It

Humpback Blue

In Hawaiian Series on September 10, 2011 at 6:53 pm

 

I had this beer at a a beer spot I mentioned before, Humpy’s.  I was trying hard to taste as many beers from Hawaii as possible and came across the Humpback Blue on the menu.  I didn’t have the opportunity to visit the Hawaii Nu’i Brewery because it was on the other side of the Big Island.

The beer was cloudy with a golden-yellow color.  I’m always intrigued by cloudy beers because it makes it look mysterious and I have to wonder what’s going on in there.    The pour was good and left some fizzy white head that hung around for a while.  The carbonation was good, I thought maybe the fizzy head would be too much, but it settled down nicely.

The aroma was citrusy and had some lemon notes in it.  Very fresh smelling.  I could also pick up some Belgian yeast in the aroma, which I love.   At 5%ABV another good percentage for just lounging around on (or near) the beach.

The mouthfeel, like the aroma, was citrusy and refreshing.  There was a good finish on the beer with the flavor of Belgian yeast as nice treat.  The yeast also adds a nice wheat/bready thing going which was pretty tasty.  It was a light to medium body beer, but more on the light side.  It was really smooth, but with a crispness to it, which I liked.  I could see myself knocking back a few these bad boys because it was easy to drink.

Verdict: Fill It!  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to visit the brewery in Hilo because I really liked this beer.  You better believe I’ll make the trip next time to see what else is brewing.  The place where I was drinking the Humpback Blue was really close to the water and the day was gorgeous, so it was a perfect beer for the place and time.  This was a good intro beer for me because if by some miracle I can find some on the mainland, I’m going to pick it up.

 

 

Leave a Reply

