Fill It or Spill It

Lavaman Red Ale

In Hawaiian Series on September 25, 2011 at 5:58 pm

A draft only beer from Kona Brewing I had while visiting the brewpub on Kona.  The waitress at the brewpub recommended this and said it was barrel aged, so how could I refuse?  The Kona brewpub had a good amount of beer on hand, but I had to go with the draft only brew.  I was trying to get as many exotics or different beers as possible while on the islands and to be honest this one just sounded cool.

The pour was really good, surprisingly.  Side note.  I’ve noticed at a lot of places the pours aren’t great, even at a “beer place”, so it was great to see a good pour.  I can’t fault the servers because I’m sure most places are moving fast and have a lot of people to get to, so I empathize.  Back to the beer.

The color was a deep, dark reddish-brown color.  The head was creamy and had a beige color to it.  The ABV was 5.6% and at this point in my trip I wasn’t surprised. The aroma on this was nice and malty.  I could pick up the roasted smell here, as well as some nice chocolate notes.

The mouthfeel was medium to full.  It had a slickness to it which was good.  I expected a heavier brew than I actually got, which was a pleasant surprise.  I could immediately pick up the roasted chocolate in the beer.  It had a really enjoyable maltyness to it that wasn’t too much or too light.  The finish was slightly bitter, but I like that in my reds.  There was also some cherry sweetness, almost a tartness to it, which worked well with the bitterness.

Verdict: Fill It!  I enjoyed this red ale a lot.  It was not as bitter as a lot of other red ales, but it wasn’t let down either.  If you are not big on red ales, I’m pretty sure you will like this beer.  Not a really complex beer; it has enough character to keep my attention, but without requiring my full attention to appreciate it.  Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

