Fill It or Spill It

Imperial Pumpkin Ale

In New Jersey on October 29, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Harvest Moon is a brewery cafe in New Brunswick NJ which is a cool spot.  I was having dinner at Harvest Moon a few weeks ago and saw that they were brewing a pumpkin ale, so I couldn’t wait to try it.  Unfortunately, when I was there for dinner it wasn’t ready to be served, but lucky for me I stopped in this week and found it was ready.  So, I did what any respectable beer nerd would do; I bought a growler of it.

I cracked the growler after a long day and decided to see what Harvest Moon had brewed.  The beer poured a deep brownish-amber color that had a respectable amount of creamy beige head.  The carbonation was average and the ABV was 5.4% if I remember correctly (sorry I forgot to take a note on the ABV) .

The aroma was really good from this beer.  The pumpkin spice and all the great autumn spices were awesome.  I could definitely pick up the cinnamon and nutmeg in it.

The mouthfeel on the Pumpkin Ale was good.  Just like the aroma, I could pick up the pumpkin spice and the nutmeg taste.  The beer leaned a bit on the malty side. The maltyness was fine, but took a few sips to adjust to and I started to not mind it.  The body was medium and very easy to drink.

Verdict: Fill It!  I’m a fan of local beers and a fan of Harvest Moon.  I think their pumpkin ale was very good.  When I had my first sip it reminded me a lot of the DFH Punkin because it was a beer I could drink back to back (to back) .  It’s not overwhelming on taste or spice, so I didn’t think of it as a pumpkin beer, just enjoyed it as a good beer.  If you are in New Brunswick, NJ definitely stop in to Harvest Moon and (if you can) grab some pumpkin ale.  I’m going to have to go back and refill my growler!

Leave a Reply

