Fill It or Spill It

Grateful Harvest Ale

In Boston on November 6, 2011 at 12:14 am

Autumn always brings great beers and I love picking up something new.  I’ve been trying to stay seasonal and drink all the autumnal beers I can this season, so I picked up the Grateful Harvest Ale from Harpoon.  With Thanksgiving right around the corner picking up a cranberry ale seemed appropriate.

The beer poured a brown color with a reddish hue to it.  Side note, I try to throw the word ‘hue’ into as many sentences as possible because it makes me feel cultured and artsy; my wife would be proud.  Back to the beer….the head was off-white and a kind of frothy; with some slight fizz to it.  The head dissipated quickly.

The aroma was malty.  There was a subtle cranberry smell that seemed to work well with the maltyness.  I could smell the balance in the beer.  The ABV was 5.9% so it was a good kick-back and relax beer.

The taste was malty straight off the bat.  The maltyness also had a toasty characteristic to it which worked.  The cranberry was just as subtle as it was in the aroma.  The most prominent thing about the characteristic of the cranberry was the tartness.  It wasn’t too much or anything, but I expected a little more sweetness.

Verdict: Fill It. (notice the absence of the ‘!’) I liked this beer and would probably get it again, but I wasn’t wow’ed.  It was a good beer with some fruitiness to it, so it makes it a good dinner beer.  I think I just expected something different, so my expectation was skewed.    The thing I liked the most about this beer is that $1 for every 6er purchased goes to a local food bank to help fight hunger.  If that isn’t a good reason to drink this beer then I don’t know what to tell you.  Go out, buy some Harpoon Grateful Harvest Ale, and let’s do some good.

  1. I definitely need to try this one!

Leave a Reply

