Fill It or Spill It

Cantillon Gueuze

In Belgium on December 4, 2011 at 9:43 pm

My beer nerd buddy was telling me about Cantillon and how it was supposed to be amazing.  It is supposed to be world-class and if he ever sees it, he would buy one without hesitating.  I did some searching online and found the same reaction on a few blogs and sites.  All these raves reviews forced me into a beer hunt…….I caught the prey.

The beer poured a bright, cloudy orange-yellow color.  I got a little bit of fizzy, white head on the pour, which dissipated quickly and left almost no coating. The ABV was 5%, so an easy beer to knock back on a lazy night.

The aroma was all funk.  It was very sour-smelling and hits the nostrils pretty hard.  I could definitely pick up that usual vinegar smell that is expected of these types of lambics.  Once I got passed the funkiness of the beer, I could pick up the citrus notes in the sourness.

The first sip was just as funky and sour as the aroma.   At first sip, I didn’t know if I could keep drinking the beer because it was so sour.  There was a tingly carbonation in each sip which was sort of cool I guess.  I couldn’t pick up too many flavors, mostly just the vinegar funk and the citrus sourness to it.  I was surprised at how smooth the beer was to drink.  Once my taste buds adjusted to the shock, it became easy to drink. There was also a slight dryness in the finish which was sort of refreshing in an odd way.

Verdict: Spill It!  This is one of those beers that is not for me.  I’ve read on a bunch of blogs and sites how amazing and complex this beer is, but I just don’t get it.  This is one of those beers where reviewers give obscure references to odd flavors you never heard of, but I don’t get it.  Those cooking show judges and beer snobs would say it’s because I don’t have a refined palate, but I just didn’t find it to be world-class.  For all the fan fare, I want to drink something I would want to drink again, no matter the style.  I don’t want someone to say “well you have to like that style of beer” because that is weak.  Great beer is great beer no matter what and this beer just didn’t do it for me.  Cantillon has other beers, so maybe I’ll fare better with those beers.

Leave a Reply

