Fill It or Spill It

Bos Keun

In Belgium on December 26, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Beer doesn’t get enough credit for being awesome.  Of course, beer nerds think so but a lot of people still just think of beer in a general sense.  Beer has been defined by crappy beer from the big three for a lot of people.  I still talk to people who say “I don’t drink beer” and I always give them the same confused/disappointed look.

I started this post with my little prelude because other than being delicious, good beer also has cool art work.  I sometimes randomly pick bottles just because they look cool.  Marketing works pretty well on me apparently.  This post is about a beer I discovered this way.  It is a Belgian beer from De Dolle.

The beer poured a yellowish-orange color with some fizzy carbonation.  The head was crazy! I don’t know if it was a poor pour on my part (maybe but not really) or this beer just had tons of life to it and wanted to get consumed.  The head was white and really fluffy, like cotton, but also a slight creamyness to it.  The ABV was 10% so definitely a sipper.

The aroma was really nice.  I got that classic Belgian yeast smell that is oddly comforting to me.  I guess it’s knowing that if I smell it, I’m in for a good beer usually.  It had a slight spiciness to it, not quite sure what it was, but it wasn’t overpowering.  There was also a good amount of hoppyness to it too.

It was a nice light bodied beer.  It had a slight sweetness to it, maybe apple-like sweetness.  A very easy beer to drink, couldn’t really pick up the 10% in there, which could mean trouble if I had a few these lying around.  There was also a very enjoyable hoppyness to it too.  I liked the slight bitter finish to it, which evened out the subtle sweetness.

Verdict: Fill It! My picking beer based on seeing a cool label worked again!  I will definitely pick up another one of these when I see it.  It was a very enjoyable beer and definitely a kick back and chill beer.  I wonder if they have this beer in a large bottle because this is a good beer to share with some friends.  I’m also keeping my eye on De Dolle because this beer was really good so I want to see what else they have brewing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

