Fill It or Spill It

Homebrewing Entry #3

In Homebrewing on January 8, 2012 at 4:29 pm

My next attempt at homebrewing was sort of a hybrid attempt.  It was part recipe from the Brooklyn Brewshop and then a bit of improv.

I purchased the Bourbon Dubbel mix because I wanted something different.  Truth be told, I really wanted to make the Apple Cinnamon beer that Brooklyn BrewShop has but I couldn’t find the kit.  I decided to email BBS and see if they were going to become available or where I could find one.   The reply I got back was the modifications I could make to the Bourbon Dubbel kit to make the Apple Cinnamon. Now we’re talking.

The recipe called for cinnamon sticks, which I was certain I had somewhere in the pantry.  Of course, I didn’t have any.  All I had was powdered cinnamon, close enough I thought.  I was sort of wrong.

Once I opened and tasted my Frankenstein brew, it had the apple sweetness and tartness, but it was missing something.  Obviously, my addition of the powdered cinnamon didn’t work, so I had a half tasty beer.  I’m thinking maybe I just needed to add a whole lot more powdered cinnamon than I did to compensate for the missing sticks.  I was cautious with the cinnamon because I didn’t want to overdo it, but probably too cautious.  You better believe I drank it, but I didn’t share it with anyone because it wasn’t a finished beer and I just sipped it thinking what other improvements could be made.

I’m starting to get the hang of the nuances of homebrewing.  I’m having tons of fun making my own beers and learning from my mistakes, so I’m on the verge of getting my first truly successful brew.  I’m also concocting my own ideas for beers, so stay tuned because soon enough I’ll have my first beer that’s my own design.

 

Leave a Reply

