Fill It or Spill It

Olde School 2010

In Delaware on January 31, 2012 at 10:36 pm

This beer looked lost on a dusty shelf, so I had to give it a good home.   I don’t usually pass up the chance to pick up beers from Dogfish.  I’ve never had it before, but read lots of good things about it and I couldn’t pass up the chance to try it.  I don’t see anything wrong with my first Olde School being  a 2010 vintage.

The beer poured a reddish amber color with not a lot of carbonation.  The head was slightly creamy, but there wasn’t much of it.  The head dissipated pretty quickly and left a slight trace of head on the beer.  This beer weighed in at 15% ABV, so it was definitely a sipper.

There was a pretty boozy aroma to the beer.  I could also pick up some cherry-like sweetness, as well as some tartness.  The fruitiness could have also come from the hops, because I could pick up the hoppyness over the sweetness.It was an interestingly balanced aroma.

The first sip was definitely boozy……it’s a barleywine what did you expect?  I could pick up that cherry sweetness but I also pick up some sharp dark fruit sweetness.  The mouthfeel was pretty syrupy, but it was not too bad.  It was surprisingly smooth and pretty easy to drink.  The boozyness wasn’t overwhelming and enjoyable because it had that cozy alcohol warmness to it.

Verdict: Fill It! I hope I can find another 2010 Olde School somewhere because I really enjoyed it.  The aging allowed the alcohol to be toned down and it was well-balanced with the sweetness.  I actually bought a 2011 bottle a couple of weeks ago, so I will be able to do a comparison.  I’ll do a follow-up post to compare the two Olde Schools and see which one was better.  Good job DFH!

 

  1. […] or he doesn’t.  Check out whether he filled or spilled DFH beers Fort, Old School 2011, Old School 2010, Punkin’ Ale, Pangaea, and finally his thoughts on his visit to the source – Dogfish […]

Leave a Reply

