Fill It or Spill It

Portamarillo

In Delaware, New Zealand on February 19, 2012 at 8:25 pm

This was an awesome find.  My wife and I were out grabbing some beers before going to a Knicks game (they lost in case you were wondering).  I was perusing the draft beer menu, but I didn’t see anything I wanted, so I asked for the bottle menu.  They had a nice selection of bottles and on the back page I saw Portamarillo; I couldn’t believe it.  If you saw Brew Masters then you saw the episode where DFH collaborated with Epic for this beer.  Like anyone else that saw the episode, I totally wanted one, but thought I’d never find it.  I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to try this rare beer.

The beer poured black with plenty of creamy tan head.  The bar was dimly lit so I couldn’t tell too much else about the appearance.  The ABV on this brew was 7%  which is a good place for ABV to me;  not too high, but not too low either.

The aroma was really interesting.  There was a roasty, coffee like aroma, but not stout-y coffee aroma either.  It was a nice, light roastyness.  The interesting aroma, as you can imagine, was the tamarillo.  The tamarillo was a sweetness that I couldn’t really compare to anything,  It wasn’t sugary sweet, but more of  a tart sweetness.  It’s almost how a lemon is sweet.  It was very cool aroma that didn’t get drowned out in that musty bar smell we all know and love (maybe not quite love).

The taste was subtle coffee and chocolate with that subtle fruity sweetness in the finish.  There was also a  quiet bitterness that added more character to the taste.  The brew had a full body and it was very smooth.  A side note about its smoothness: my wife tried this one and really liked it.  She is not a fan of stouts or porters, but enjoyed trying this, which says a lot.  The sweetness balanced the coffee and chocolate notes to make this really easy to drink.  The fruity sweetness wasn’t overpowering and I didn’t get lost in the porter characteristics either.

Verdict: Fill It! I would absolutely fill my glass again and again on this one.  I hope I can find this beer again because I really enjoyed it.  The sweetness balanced this beer out really well.  It was really smooth and at 7% ABV, you could definitely have a few without causing too much trouble.  Sometimes collab beers are a let down, for whatever reason, but this beer delivered.  It’s a shame this beer seems to be retired.  Epic and Dogfish should get together and brew this beer again because I’d be in line for it. If you can find it, order it; you won’t be disappointed.

  1. You are very lucky! I have one bottle stored for another day (I’m a kiwi who went to the launch, loved it, and enjoyed it even more after a year in the keg). Go back and have another if you can!

    Amy (another Epic fan)

Leave a Reply

