Fill It or Spill It

Devil Dancer

In Michigan on March 9, 2012 at 9:22 pm

I bought this beer as a test of bravery and out of morbid curiosity.  I like IPAs and the idea of a triple IPA was fascinating to me.  On vacation last year, I overheard a beer trade for a quintuple IPA which blew my mind.  Why would anyone want to drink such a thing?  I thought to myself, but how cool sounding.  So, I decided I would buy a crazy IPA if I could find one and I found a triple IPA from Founders.

The beer poured a very rich orange/red color.  The carbonation was about average, I didn’t notice anything crazy.  There wasn’t a lot of head, only a thin layer of fizzy head that dissipated fairly quickly. At 12% ABV this is a pretty big beer that is definitely a sipper.

The aroma had a fruity hoppyness and very clean smelling pine-like aroma to it as well.  There were some other subtle notes, but clearly this thing is all hops in the nose.  My prediction? Pain.

The hoppy bitterness to this brew was intense, although the finish on the beer was nice.  The hoppyness doesn’t stop there though.  The hops linger quite a bit and once you think its over, this beer kicks you right in the taste buds with a boot made of hops.  I had to change into my big boy pants to finish this beer.  The body on this beer was light to medium body, pretty satisfying.

Verdict: Spill It! I wanted to like this beer, but it was just too much for me.  The taste starts to get really astringent after a while and felt like it was melting my insides.  It is a well made beer, so hop heads will enjoy it.  Definitely not for the faint of heart.  I like Founders and the beers they make, but this one was not for me.  Maybe one day I’ll try it again (probably not).

Leave a Reply

