Fill It or Spill It

Siamese Twin Ale

In California on July 1, 2012 at 9:27 pm

This was another on a whim beer that I picked up.  I had never seen this beer before or heard of the brewery.  Uncommon Brewers is from Santa Cruz, California and the beer seemed interesting enough, so I decided to buy one.  I was particularly intrigued by the fact that it was a tall can.  I know canned beer is the new thing to do in beer, but I figured why not give Uncommon Brewers a chance.

The beer poured dark red color, almost like wine.  It had a surprisingly viscous look to it.  The head was pretty slim on the beer and dissipated at an average pace.  The ABV was pretty big at 8.5%, so I knew I was going to be spending some quality time with this one.

The nose had some cherry sweetness to it, again almost like wine.  There was also some slight coriander hints in the nose, which was interesting.  If there was any citrus/lime notes in the beer, they were hidden by the dark fruit and cherry notes.

This brew had a viscus mouthfeel to it; very syrupy.  I couldn’t help but feel like I was drinking cough syrupy because of the syrup feel and the cherry sweetness.  I couldn’t find any of the keffir lime in the beer, but then again I’m not too familiar with keffir limes to begin with.

Verdict: Spill It!  I wasn’t a fan of this beer.  I read that it is a dubbel style beer, but this was unlike any dubbel I have ever had.  Unfortunately, it felt like this beer was trying too hard to interpret the style and put a spin on it.  I commend them for the attempt, but I probably will not have this beer again.  I like what they are about, a “community-oriented, organic brewery”, so if I find a different beer I’ll try it.  Sadly, I’ll have to stay away from this beer.

  1. I’ve had a few cherry beers I like, but they walk a tight line in my opinion. Done well, they can be crisp, refreshing and tart. Done wrong, as you said “cough syrup”. And once my mind says that, nothing can save the beer.

Leave a Reply

