Fill It or Spill It

Le Freak

In California, Uncategorized on September 9, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Le Freak is one of those beers I’ve been wanting to try for a while, but have never been in the mood for it.  I finally was in the mood and bought it.  I’ve had beers before from Green Flash Brewing, so I was optimistic about this one.  I was particularly curious about the mix of a tripel and an IPA.

The beer poured a golden-yellow color with tons of really creamy head.  It almost looked like the foam on a cappuccino or some other fancy pants coffee.  It settled to a nice froth.  There was not a lot of carbonation in the beer.   What little carbonation was present was pretty slow-moving.  At a little over 9% ABV this was going to be an experience.

The aroma was pretty complex.  It had a solid hop presence mixed with the Belgian yeast aroma.  Quite an interesting mix of aromas.  The booze mixed some peppery notes made for very interesting aromatics.

The taste was just as complex as the aroma.  It had a little citrus in the start, but finished quite bitter.  The Belgian yeast taste was partnered with a little peppery kick.  This beer was surprisingly thick and syrupy.  Once the ABV started kicking in this beer got really heavy and not easy to drink.

Verdict: Spill It! I read a lot of positive things about this beer, but I just couldn’t enjoy it.  I appreciate the attempt of combining a tripel and an IPA, but in the end the beer felt confused.  I usually enjoy the big ABV beers, but it was too much in Le Freak.  There was so much going on with the beer taste wise and to have a high ABV on top of that was too intense for me.  I don’t think there is any middle ground on this beer, you either love it or hate it (in this case fill it or spill it).  I may try this on draft, but other than that, I won’t be trying this again.

Leave a Reply

