Fill It or Spill It

Galway Hooker

In Ireland Series on September 23, 2012 at 6:59 pm

I did a series of posts on my last vacation, so I’ll do the same with my latest vacation in Ireland.  So, stay tuned for some more Irish beer reviews and beer spot posts.

While on vacation in Ireland I was on the hunt for Irish craft beer.  I had plenty of Guinness don’t worry, but as a beer nerd I wanted something more.  So, I did some research on craft beer in Ireland and I found Galway Hooker.  We actually got lost looking for a brewpub in Galway that serves Galway Hooker.  Stay tuned for that story.

The beer poured an almost orange color, maybe more gold than orange.   There was  slow-moving carbonation and fluffy white head.  The head settles to a nice coating on the top of the beer.  The ABV is 4.3%, so it is light and perfect for knocking back a few.

The aroma was a great piney hop aroma.  The aroma had a little  pilsner scent to it.  There was some wheaty and malty notes, which were a good compliment to the hops.  I also picked up a little sweetness to it.

This beer had a solid start to it with good hoppines to it.    The same pilsner notes in the aroma are present in the taste.  There was some wheaty notes in the middle and it finished with a solid bitter kick.  I liked the bitter kick because it wasn’t too much and it balanced out the wheatyness of the beer.  I’m careful with pale ales because they are either poorly hopped or not hopped enough, but not the case here.

Verdict: Fill It!  I liked this beer because it was a change of pace.  I don’t drink any beers from the “big three” and that’s mostly what you will find in pubs and restaurants.  Why not just drink Guinness?  It is not possible to drink Guinness all the time (I tried).  Galway Hooker is a well crafted beer that isn’t overly complicated.  I enjoyed this beer over dinner near the waterfront on a cool Irish night and I could not have been happier.  The brewery website says that you can’t find a Galway Hooker on every corner, which is a shame because this is the only hooker I will ever try to find.  Hopefully, the next time I’m in Ireland I’ll try to meet the brewers and visit their brewery.  If you are ever in Ireland make sure this is the only hooker you try to find.

  1. Good to know. To be. honest, I would not want to drink Guiness every day so to find a craft option would be great

Leave a Reply

