Fill It or Spill It

Oatmeal Bull-Aisin Saddles

In New Jersey on October 8, 2012 at 10:13 pm

A couple of months ago, I got to hang out with Bob from Bolero Snort Brewery and share a few pints.  Bob told me he had a few unique beers that I could try and Bull-Aisin Saddles was one of them.  He hasn’t let me down yet with his recommendations, so I had to trust him on this one too.

The beer pours almost completely black with tons of creamy, tan head.  The carbonation in the beer was quite active, so this bull was full of life.  The head had good retention because it hung around for quite a while and dissipated very slowly.  The ABY was 6%, so  not too high, but just enough to warm you on those chilly fall nights.

The aroma on this beer was fantastic.  It smelled how fall (and fall beers) should smell.  The all-spice and cinnamon aromas were really well-balanced.  I also picked up the subtle roasted malts notes, which gave it that classic stoutyness.

The same fall beer tastes were present in the first sip.  The cinnamon spiciness was accompanied by the raisin sweetness  which played really well off each other. The mix of fall spices and raisin definitely made me feel like I was drinking an oatmeal cook and in a really delicious way.  The body was nice and full, like any good stout.  It wasn’t overly filling as some stouts tend to feel.  I think if I had another one of these I would’ve had another with no problem.

Verdict: Fill It!  I can say this is one of my favorite Bolero Snort beers.  It was good example of beer creativity and why good beers are worth seeking out.  Bull-Aisin Saddles was never overly sweet and never got tough to drink as some of these kinds of beer can get.  This is one of those beers that makes you shed a tear once you’ve had the last sip because there is no more.  It is better to have loved and lost, right?  Bolero Snort is still making progress towards reaching shelves, so keep your eyes open.  Support your local breweries!

 

 

Leave a Reply

