Fill It or Spill It

Monkey Chased The Weasel

In New Jersey on November 4, 2012 at 10:29 pm

I haven’t had much luck with sour beers.  The first few attempts did not make me a fan, but as with other beers I know it’s just a matter of finding a good one.  I came across Monkey Chased The Weasel from Carton Brewing.  Carton is a Jersey brewery who is making quality beers.  I haven’t had the opportunity to visit the brewery yet, but hopefully in the near future.  I’ve had a few of their beers before and I enjoyed them, so why not try their sour one?

The beer poured a clear yellow color.  Tons of carbonation and a good amount of fizzy, white head that dissipated fairly slowly.  This beer was light on ABV weighing in at only 3.9%, so an easily sessionable beer.

The aroma let you know upfront that this was a sour beer, just in case you needed any reassurance.  It was quite tart, but not as funky as I expected.  It was a little sweet-smelling with hints of apple accompanied with some lemony tartness.  I was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t have an off-putting sour aroma.

The first sip was quite refreshing.  Just like the aroma, it wasn’t overly sour and very enjoyable.  It was sour, but not lip puckering sour.  It was a little sweet and had a light wheatyness to it.  The apple notes were subtle, but present.  The lemony tartness finished very smoothly.  Since the ABV is light, I had to purposely slow down because this was such an easy beer to drink.

Verdict: Fill It! Carton has made me a fan of sour beers, at least a fan of the one they brew.  It was really easy to drink and what I want out of a sour beer.  I’ve had sours that have been either to funky or too sour and I didn’t like either one.  This beer was neither, it was the right amount of everything.  I’m on a permanent lookout for this beer from Carton and you should be too.  Don’t be scared, you’ll like it.  Support local beer!

Leave a Reply

