Fill It or Spill It

Westvleteren 12

In Belgium on November 30, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Finally!  After spending my whole life looking for it, I finally found it.  Actually, I have not spent my whole looking, but it sounds dramatic.  I’ve come painfully close to getting one of those 6 pack gift sets, but alas it did not happen for me.  Check out my FB page just to see how close I was.  Thanks to my usual beer drinking buddy, I was able to try one of the most elusive beers in the world, the Westvletern 12.

The beer poured a dark brown color accompanied with a reddish hue.  It didn’t have a lot of head.  A sliver of fizzy white head was on the top of the beer, which dissipated pretty quickly.  The head left a barely there dusting on top.  The ABV on this one was slightly over 10%, which is expected for a quad.

The aroma was nice and sweet.  Definitely heavy on the dark fruit, figs and brown sugar.  The sweetness in the aroma was accompanied by straight booze.  A lot boozier than expected.  I would’ve thought the booze would have been hidden a little better, but it wasn’t.  It smelled a lot like dark rum to me, but who said that was a bad thing.

I had to control myself and fight every urge to just chug this thing.  I had to stay composed and slowly sip this bad boy.  It definitely did not disappoint.  There was a slight maltyness in the start and then the dark fruit sweetness was pronounced in the middle.  The booze was also pretty evident in the finish, but it smoothed out quite nicely.  It left you with that warm, fuzzy booze feeling after each sip.

The beer was a lot thinner than I thought.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about the thinness at the moment of consumption because I expected a little more body.  In retrospect, I think being a little thinner added to its drinkability.  It also had a fizzy tingle to it too.  For the sake of comparison, we had a St. Bernardus 12 a little while later.    If you haven’t had the pleasure of trying the Westie 12, it is incredibly close to St Bernardus 12.  The St. Bernardus has a little more body and is what I expected the Westie 12 to be.  More than likely the Westie 12 is what the St. Bernie 12 should be.

Verdict: Fill It!  You know this would be a Fill It, even before you read through the post.  It’s definitely a world-class beer and everyone should try it.  The question always is “is it the greatest beer you’ve ever had?” and I don’t think it is.  Definitely top 5 beers so far, but for me I think I have too much beer left to try before I can name a number 1.  I have favorites, but nothing I am ready to name my top beer of all time.    Besides, I can’t just say it is the best beer ever because it is hard to find and everyone says it is.  If you are looking for it don’t go over paying or over trading for it either.  It’s definitely a “delicious glass of glory” as my friend put it.   Just don’t go over doing it trying to get it to be able to say you had one.  Then again, it is easy for me to say because I’ve had one.

  1. This is a damn good beer! I had it once thanks to a buddy and I am excited about the US release. I can’t wait to try it again… though, not looking forward to the price of a 6ers… geez!!!

Leave a Reply

