Fill It or Spill It

Duvel Rustica

In Belgium, New York on December 16, 2012 at 9:44 pm

duvelrustica

On a random beer run, I came across Duvel Rustica from Ommegang.  I hadn’t heard anything about it, so I wasn’t looking for it and surprised when I saw it.  I like Duvel and I am a fan of Ommegang, so why not give this beer a try?

The beer poured a clear, straw-yellow color with some fizzy white head.  It had really fast-moving carbonation, so that Belgian yeast must have really been busy.  The ABV is pretty stout at 8.5%, so not a beer you want to turn your back on.

The aroma is classic Belgian ale.  The nose was full of yeast aroma mixed with some wheat notes and a little spicy kick.  It was pretty light with a slight fruity hops aroma.

It was a very light tasting beer with some barely there citrus sweetness.  There was also a little spiciness accompanied by some wheat notes.  It was very similar to a saison, but to be honest not a good one.  It had a bland Belgian beer taste.  It tasted almost watered down taste and was not overly complex.  On the bright side, the alcohol was really nicely hidden.

Verdict: Spill it!  This pained me to have to do, but I just was not a fan of this beer.  Ommegang is one of my favorite breweries, but this beer was a big let down.  A collaboration between Duvel and Ommegang sounds like a good idea, but the execution wasn’t there.  It tasted like a cheap saison and I did not enjoy it.  There are a ton of other Ommegang beers I would rather spend my money on.  Without question there are definitely better Belgian-style or Belgian beers to try.  If you’re curious give it a try, but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

  1. You’re the second blog I follow that’s not liked this. Guess big name collaborations don’t always work.

  2. I was pretty bored by this. Take boring ass Ommegang yeast and mix it with a beer that’s basically ancient these days.

Leave a Reply

