Fill It or Spill It

Especially Snarky Bull (ESB)

In New Jersey on January 8, 2013 at 12:12 am

esb

It’s been a little while since my last post, but those holidays really threw me off my rhythm.  The first post of 2013 will be on Bolero Snort.  I  read that Bolero Snort is working on finalizing some launch events (hopefully) this week.  Like other NJ beer nerds, I’m excited to finally be able to find Bolero Snort beers for sale.  So, I thought why not do a post on Bolero Snort?

Especially Snarky Bull (ESB) is a cask-style ESB.  To be honest, this was my first ESB beer.  The style never interested me enough to try.  The title “extra strong/special bitter” just really didn’t appeal to me.  However, like last time, I had to trust that Bob wouldn’t steer me wrong.

The beer poured a good amber color and had tons of sudsy, white head.  The carbonation was really active and there was  nice lacing and retention.  The ABV was 5.1%, so it was a sessionable beer.

The  aroma had a subtle, piney hoppyness.  The aroma also had a solid malt backbone, but it was not overly aromatic.  The taste had a sharp bitterness upfront that smoothed out in the finish.  I was afraid there would be some extra bitterness or something overpowering, but not at all.  The hops were balanced out  with a little bit of malt sweetness in the finish.

Verdict: Fill It!  Bolero Snort strikes again.  I really liked this beer and wish I had a 6er of it because it’s a great all-purpose beer.  I don’t drink ESBs regularly, so I don’t know how it stacks up against other ESBs.  I don’t know if it is a great representation of the style, all I know is I liked it and that’s all that counts.  Hopefully, the folks reading this post will be able to support Bolero Snort at the their upcoming events and going forward.  Congratulations to Bob and Andrew on the upcoming launch and here’s to good beer.  Support your local brewers!

  1. funny thing is that ESBs were one of my first beer styles but I have not seen them in a while.

Leave a Reply

